Posted by: atri | April 22, 2012

Wiki Phase-I graded

I’ll hand out graded in house wiki entries for phase-I in class tomorrow. First the stats (the max score was 60):

  • Mean: 53.68
  • Median: 52

The grades have been uploaded to UBLearns.

Since I’ll be handing out the graded stuff earlier than promised I have changed the rest of the schedule a wee bit:

  1. April 29. By 11:59pm of this day you should have incorporated all my comments and made your own changes to improve the entry. Send me email when you’re done. (This part will contribute 30% of the grade.)
  2. April 30. I’ll send you my final comments and give my go ahead if you can post your entry on Wikipedia.
  3. May 1. If you got my go ahead (yes, if I’m not satisfied with your entry of April 29, then I will not give my OK), then by 11:59pm of this day, your entry should be up on Wikipedia. Please email me the link to the Wikipedia entry/entries that you have uploaded/modified.
  4. May 7. By 11:59pm you should have taken care of any comments on your Wikipedia page. Email me a summary of any major comments that you took care of. The last 10% of the grade will depend on the entry as of this date.

I have written down comments on a printout of your entry which I’ll hand out in class tomorrow. Here are some common “mistakes” that I’m repeating here so that you can incorporate them (even if I forgot to write it during my grading):

  1. Make sure your introduction is understandable to a reader who know a bit about coding theory but nothing beyond basics.
  2. Almost everyone of you have based your entries on existing material. Make sure yo acknowledge your source in the intro itself (in addition to the reference section). For an example, see the Wikipedia entry on expander codes.
  3. Make sure you follows Wikipedia’s recommended style.
  4. Make sure all your figures are your own. Wikipedia is picky about copyrights for figures.
  5. When you’re using a mathematical concept for the first time, define it or better yet link the phrase to a Wikipedia page that defines the concept.
  6. When you provide links to a resource if it is a published paper, also provide a link to the official published version.
  7. If you claim something, please make sure you back it up with the following (in the order of most preferred to least preferred):
    • Give a proof in the body of your entry or link to a Wikipedia page that has the proof
    • Give link to an online resource that has the proof
  8. Here are some LaTeX tips:
    • To typset x\in S use $x\in S$ and not $x\epsilon S$, which typesets as x\epsilon S
    • Make sure that any symbol that has been typeset in math mode, then it is always typeset in math mode. E.g. if you say somewhere that v\in V, then you should not say somewhere later ..” vertex v…” It should be typeset as “.. vertex v..”
    • To typeset field \mathbb{F}, please use $\mathbb{F}$ and not just $F$, which typesets as F
Leave a Reply

Categories

